Because of Jesus: Someone Knocked on Louanne’s Door

Posted on November 4, 2011

10




Week Four of  the “Because of Jesus” blog series is by one of my dear friends, Louanne Dietrich. Her “Jesus story” inspires me to keep asking. I can’t wait for you to read it!

On a Saturday, June 1996 my doorbell rang.  Two men stood there, and one said some things that I don’t remember but this question got my attention, “If you were to die today do you know for sure that you would go to heaven?”

I looked at him and did a quick evaluation of my life. Divorced, alcohol, bad relationships and so I rather quickly told him “no.” He said, “Did you know that you could know for sure?”

Hmm.  I had been in church most of my life….“No, I didn’t know that.” He responded with a smile, “Would you like to know for sure?” , he quickly asked.

I said, “yes!” and standing in the front door of my house, I prayed with them as the sunlight hit my face. The next few weeks had some changes that I learned later were from God.  I ended a bad relationship, left the new-age church I had been attending and joined a Bible-teaching, Jesus loving church.

The Lord put me on a track of learning about His love, salvation, peace, joy and forgiveness. I am still on it. I did make several trips to the altar. It was difficult for me to fathom His forgiveness and I wanted to go back and make sure it would stick!

Fifteen years later I am cemented in Him and trying to stay at His feet. My favorite scripture is Ephesians 4:1 Live a life worthy of the calling you have received. That is a tall order for a girl who once believed she was a mistake her parents didn’t really want. But it’s not too much for the Almighty God!

Louanne Dietrich and her godly husband, Al, reside in the Branson, MO area.  She has two grown step children, Levi and Jordan.  She works for New Leaf Publishing Group (Master Books) in the sales department.  Al and Louanne attend Woodland Hills Family Church in Branson.

Catch up on previous Because of Jesus personal accounts: Tracee’s Hope, Melissa’s Journey, & Angie Risks Loving Others

Posted in: Because of Jesus