Because of Jesus: I Risk Loving Others

Posted on October 28, 2011

9




Welcome to week 3 in the Because of Jesus blog series. This series aims to keep our minds on the difference Jesus’ power and love creates in our lives. Enjoy today’s post from my dear friend and sister Louisiana College alum, Angie Battle.

Little children, let us not love in word or talk but in deed and in truth.” I John 3:18

My ever-inquisitive son David asked me, “Momma, what’s a force field?” I explained to him in my best pseudo-Trekkie way that it’s an invisible electric wall to keep people or things from going in…or going out. While saying this, I had an image of Mr. Spock raising his hands to a door opening only to realize painfully (dramatized by very special effects and great acting) that he couldn’t leave the room he was confined to.

I grew up a very poor, clunky-looking, short kid. Any one of those three descriptors would have put a “pick on me” sign on my back, but sporting the trio of troublesome issues? Yeah, it was bad. I did what a lot of people do as a result: I put up an invisible force field to protect my fragile, little heart. I say invisible because to most people I seemed outgoing and downright friendly. However, I was quick to criticize and lash out with arsenic-laced words that would put folks in their place if I sensed impending harm to me.

Jesus showed me that force field was not just keeping people from reaching my heart; it was keeping the love poured into my heart by Him from flowing out purely. He revealed a chasm between my self-protective tendencies and His fierce pursuit of people’s hearts.  I longed to please Him, but I knew the only way I could do that is to love the way He loves…genuinely and fearlessly. So I prayed an honest prayer from the depths of my soul: “Jesus, help me love like you do.”

Because of Jesus, I have shifted from shielding my own heart with sharp words and a careless attitude.  Because of Jesus, I give my heart freely because He’s given His so freely to me.

Because of Jesus, I love.

Angie Battle, author of From the Rooftops, the blogAngie Battle currently lives with her husband and six-year-old son in Georgia. She teaches the coolest fourth graders in the world! God’s also given her other avenues of serving Him including being part of the women’s ministry leadership team at her church and writing her blog, From the Rooftops. She is crazy in love with Jesus and is convinced her passion for people comes straight from our Father’s heart for them (that includes you).

Other posts in the Because of Jesus series include:
Tracee’s Story of HopeMelissa’s Journey into the Word

When tweeting, please use the #BecauseofJesus hashtag.

Posted in: Because of Jesus