Meet the Family: Katie “Nana” Mott

Posted on August 19, 2011

2




Meet Katie Hoyt Mott, my mom’s mom. MANY people know her and love her because she taught Home Economics at Rapides High School (LeCompte, LA) for over 30 years. I was privileged to be her student during her last year of teaching.   She taught hundreds of girls to be excellent cooks, seamstresses, and managers of the home.

I am very proud of the heritage I have in her. She’s an outstanding woman who has survived much in her lifetime. I have learned so much from her and continue to treasure her.

Get to know “Nana” in this video my brother created as a short documentary of her life experiences.

Katie Documentary from Travis Odom on Vimeo.

If you knew her, please leave a comment telling me what you love about her. If you just met her, let me know who her story has inspired you.

Posted in: Relationships